Adventures, Art, Design, Jewelry, Photography

HENNA- temporary tattoo

Henna is made from a plant called Lawsonia inermis. I have been introduced to Henna by my dear friend Anu. During nursing school I was able to use the henna to do are of temporary tattooing on people’s arms, legs, feet, and hands for a UGANDA fundraise. For the first time in my life I was able to experience the joy of Henna on my hands, front and back. Henna is also known to be used not only for art temporary tattoos, it is also used as dye for hair, nail, skin, fingernails, leather, and wool. Henna is usually done during weddings and the brides hands and arms are decked out with neat and intricate designs drawn by hand. The bride got hers done so Kaci, Mel, and I joined! Thanks Anu for taking care of us so well!!!

IMG_4402-01

The finished work.

IMG_4290

The henna dries and crusts off in 15-20 minutes depending on the thickness of the Henna that was applied.

IMG_4288

I couldn’t use my hands for about 20 minutes. Thank goodness I didn’t have to use the rest room. The wait for it to dry and set it was well worth it. After the 15 minutes, a cotton ball drenched with lime juice was dabbed onto the henna art. The lime juice makes the henna darker.

IMG_4772

photo

It was fun while it lasted. I still have it on and its been a week and two days. The palm of my hands still have a few dark spots and it totally looks weird!! When I came back and went to the supermarket the cashier asked me if it was real. I love body art on others. I have not come to the courage to have it on my body just yet. Henna art work is the closest I have to tattooing.

Standard

Leave a Reply

